Date Recipient
09/22/2016 President's Faculty Excellence Awards

The university’s most prestigious awards for teaching, research and engagement recognize individual faculty members and one academic department whose work has had a significant impact on students, the university and the state. Winners are selected by a committee of faculty members—and in the case of the engagement award, community members—and receive a monetary prize, a presidential medallion and an engraved plaque. The President’s Faculty Excellence Awards include:

  • The Outstanding Research and Creative Activity Award (ORCA) honors members of the University of Nebraska faculty who have conducted outstanding research or creative activity of national/international significance. The winner is awarded $10,000.

  • The Outstanding Teaching and Instructional Creativity Award (OTICA) honors members of the University of Nebraska faculty who have developed meritorious and sustained records of excellence in teaching and creativity related to teaching. The winner is awarded $10,000.

  • The Innovation, Development, and Engagement Award (IDEA) honors members of the University of Nebraska faculty who have extended their academic expertise beyond the boundaries of the University in ways that have enriched the broader community. The winner is awarded $10,000.

  • The University-wide Departmental Teaching Award (UDTA) honors a department/unit at the University of Nebraska which has outstanding esprit de corps in its dedication to the education of students at the undergraduate, graduate, or professional levels. The honored department is awarded $25,000.


Past Winners

For more information on University of Nebraska awards, contact Angela Dibbert at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or (402) 472-5242.


  • Presidential Professor
    Presidential Professors are appointed by the president of the university to serve as public scholars who enrich the cultural and educational life of the university and the state. President Milliken has appointed two Presidential Professors: Ted Kooser, former U.S. Poet Laureate and Pulitzer Prize-winning poet, who is also a faculty member at UNL; and Enrique Martinez Celaya, a renowned painter, sculptor and poet. “It is my hope and expectation that the Presidential Professorship will help demonstrate that the University of Nebraska is one great statewide institution, with exceptional talent and resources available among the campuses and throughout the state,” Milliken said.

  • Other
University of Nebraska
3835 Holdrege Street, Lincoln, Nebraska 68583 | 402.472.2111 | Comments?
©2019 University of Nebraska Board of Regents