Implementation Areas

Information Technology Services

What We Do

Information Technology Services (ITS) provides enterprise technology services aligned to the strategic priorities of the University of Nebraska and each campus.

ITS teams support over 200 technical services within scaled divisions of:

  • Infrastructure Services
  • IT Security Services
  • Enterprise Services
  • Client Services
  • IT Strategy and Planning

And campus divisions of:

  • Academic Technology Services
  • Application Development Services

What's Happening Now

For more information on changes in ITS, visit:

Cost Savings and Strategies

We anticipate approximately $6 million in cost savings through the following strategies developed by the Information Technology Services BRT team. These strategies have been approved by the President and Chancellors. For more detailed information, see the document below.

Implementation Team Members

ITS Implementation Team Chairs:

  • Mark Askren, UNL/UNCA (chair)
  • Bret Blackman, UNO (vice chair)

ITS Implementation Team Members:

  • Andrea Childress,  UNK
  • Bob Goeman, UNO Brian Lancaster, NM
  • David Bagby, UNL
  • David Nielsen, UNO
  • Deb Schroeder, UNK
  • Don Mihulka, UNCA
  • Heath Tuttle, UNL
  • Kimberly Harper, UNL/UNCA
  • Lance Perez, UNL
  • Maggie Witt, UNL
  • Neal Wineman, UNL
  • Rick Haugerud, UNL/UNCA
  • Rod Markin, UNMC
  • Erin Busch, UNCA
  • Pam McCoy, UNCA
  • Erin Owen, UNO
  • Jason Buzzell, UNO

Frequently Asked Questions

Please see the list of FAQs regarding the ITS Budget implementation.

ITS Contact Info

Your feedback is important. Please let me know if you have questions, comments or thoughts.

Mark Askren
Vice President for Information Technology, University of Nebraska
Vice Chancellor, University of Nebraska-Lincoln 

Bret Blackman
Associate Vice President and UNO Chief Information Officer