Provost's Office

Faculty Honors & Awards

The executive vice president and provost administers the University of Nebraska's faculty awards and honorary degree programs. These awards honor service to the university and excellence in teaching, research and outreach.

The University of Nebraska recognizes the importance of honoring accomplished faculty, staff, students, and community leaders and organizations for significant contributions and achievements.

Faculty and unit excellence is honored each spring with President's Excellence Awards.  And lasting contributions to the university and to the world are honored with the Regents Medal and Honorary Degrees.


President's Excellence Awards

The university’s most prestigious awards for teaching, research and engagement recognize individual faculty members and academic/administrative units whose work has had a significant impact on students, the university and the state. Winners are selected by a committee of faculty members—and in the case of the engagement award, community members—and receive a monetary prize, a presidential medallion and an engraved plaque. The President’s Excellence Awards include:

  • The Outstanding Research and Creative Activity Award (ORCA) honors members of the University of Nebraska faculty who have conducted outstanding research or creative activity of national/international significance. The winner is awarded $10,000.

  • The Outstanding Teaching and Instructional Creativity Award (OTICA) honors members of the University of Nebraska faculty who have developed meritorious and sustained records of excellence in teaching and creativity related to teaching. The winner is awarded $10,000.
  • The Innovation, Development, and Engagement Award (IDEA) honors members of the University of Nebraska faculty who have extended their academic expertise beyond the boundaries of the University in ways that have enriched the broader community. The winner is awarded $10,000.
  • The University-wide Departmental Teaching Award (UDTA) honors a department/unit at the University of Nebraska which has outstanding esprit de corps in its dedication to the education of students at the undergraduate, graduate, or professional levels. The honored department is awarded $25,000.
  • The Inclusive Excellence Collaboration Award (IECA) recognizes outstanding contributions which advance diversity, access and inclusion and equitable outcomes that drive inclusive excellence. IECA honors academic and/or administrative departments/units or campuses at the University of Nebraska that have collaborated on sustained diversity, access, and inclusion efforts that advance a culture of inclusivity and lead to increased equitable outcomes for faculty, staff and students.  The honored unit is awarded $25,000.

Past winners:  2018   2017   2016

2019 Application Packets: 

2019 Inclusive Excellence Collaboration Award Application Packet

2019 Faculty Excellence Awards Application Packets

Honorary Degrees

The university awards honorary doctoral degrees to individuals who have attained achievements of extraordinary and lasting distinction. The following may be considered for an honorary degree:

  • Persons who have rendered distinguished service to the university
  • Persons who have rendered distinguished service to Nebraska
  • Graduates, former students and former employees who have achieved distinction
  • Persons not associated with the university who have a record of scholarship, creativity, leadership, or humanitarian or public service

Honorary degrees are not awarded to current members of the university faculty or staff, or members of the Board of Regents or to any person currently seeking or holding an elective state or federal office. No individual may receive more than one honorary degree from the University of Nebraska.

Individuals may be nominated for honorary degrees by campus committees, members of the University of Nebraska Board of Regents or members of the general public.


Regents Medal

The Regents Medal is awarded to individuals whose service to the University has provided exceptional benefits in furthering the goals and mission of the institution. The University Board of Regents selects the recipient.