NU Board of Regents elects new officers
The University of Nebraska Board of Regents today elected Chuck Hassebrook as the chairperson for 2008. Hassebrook, from Lyons, represents District 3 and has served on the Board of Regents since 1994. He has been re-elected to two additional terms, most recently in 2006, and previously served as chair in 2000 and as vice chair in 2007 and 1999.

Regent Kent Schroeder of Kearney – who represents District 6 – was elected vice chair for 2008.

Hassebrook is Executive Director of the Center for Rural Affairs, a nationally recognized research, advocacy and rural development organization that promotes family farming and ranching, small business and sustainable development for agricultural communities.

In addition to his work with the Center, Hassebrook serves on several boards and committees, including the Nebraska Rural Development Commission. He also has served on the National Commission on Small Farms, and co-chaired the USDA Agricultural Science and Technology Review Board. Hassebrook earned his Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. He and his wife, Kate, have two children.

Schroeder was first elected to the Board of Regents in 1998. He was re-elected in 2005, and served as chairman in 2002 and vice chairman in 2001. Schroeder is an attorney with the firm, Ross, Schroeder and Romatzke in Kearney.

The Board of Regents consists of eight members elected to six-year terms, and four nonvoting student regents who represent each of the four NU campuses.

University of Nebraska
3835 Holdrege Street, Lincoln, Nebraska 68583 | 402.472.2111 | Comments?
©2017 University of Nebraska Board of Regents