Skip to main content

Zoom AI Companion

 

Zoom AI Companion is an AI assistant within Zoom that helps you run meetings, communicate, and manage follow-ups. It allows you to be present and focus on the conversations you're having during the meeting instead of focusing on taking notes.

Cost

Zoom AI Companion is included with your Zoom license at no cost to the user.

Access

Zoom AI Companion is available for all faculty, staff, and students.

Data & AI Use

Zoom AI Companion can be used with any low and medium risk data you provide to the AI tool.

Zoom AI Companion is great for:

Taking notes during a meeting to refer to at a later date

Identifying and assigning future tasks for participants

Answering questions and summarizing previous meeting conversations for attendees who arrive late

Knowledge is power.

Frequently Asked Questions

What if you're in a meeting using companion and you are not sure it should be enabled or you don't feel comfortable with it being enabled?

Unlike some tools, AI Companion does not shut off its AI features just by typing “stop” in the chat. There is no easy way to shut off AI Companion during a meeting. The best practice would be to send an individual message to the host and ask them to turn off AI.

If I'm hosting a meeting and want to use AI Companion, do I need to notify individuals at the start of the meeting and give them an opportunity to say no?

Best practice is to always be transparent about when and why you’re wanting to use AI; AI companion within Zoom is no different. It is best practice to notify all participants that AI will be used and allow them the opportunity to express if they do or do not feel comfortable having it enabled for the meeting.

What if AI Companion is enabled in a meeting and we begin to talk about medium or high-risk content?

AI Companion can be paused or shut off at any time. If medium or high-risk content comes up, remind everyone that the topic violates NU ITS policy and recommend turning off the AI Companion before you resume discussing, or recommend taking the conversation offline. If you realize this after the meeting ends, simply delete the AI companion summary so it is permanently deleted after 30 days.