08/21/2007 Recognition & Awards

The University of Nebraska recognizes the importance of honoring accomplished faculty, staff, students, and community leaders and organizations for significant contributions and achievements.

Faculty excellence in teaching, research and outreach is honored each spring with the ORCA, OTICA, IDEA and UDTA awards presented by the President. Entrepreneurial initiatives of businesses and students are honored with the Walter Scott Awards. And lasting contributions to the university and to the world are honored with the Regents Medal and Honorary Degrees.

University of Nebraska Kudos recognize staff who go "above and beyond," while Resolutions are presented by the Board of Regents to honor service to the university.

Faculty Awards
Innovation, Development and Engagement Award (IDEA)
Outstanding Research and Creative Activity Award (ORCA)
Outstanding Teaching and Instructional Creativity Award (OTICA)
University-wide Departmental Teaching Award (UDTA)

Student Awards
Peter Kiewit Student Entrepreneurial Award

Community Awards
Walter Scott Entrepreneurial Business Award
Honorary Degrees

Board of Regents Awards
Regents Medal

Campus Awards
UNK Ron and Carol Cope Cornerstone of Excellence Award
UNL Nebraska Builder Awards
UNMC J. G. Elliott Award
UNO Order of the Tower Award


  • Presidential Professor
    Presidential Professors are appointed by the president of the university to serve as public scholars who enrich the cultural and educational life of the university and the state. President Milliken has appointed two Presidential Professors: Ted Kooser, former U.S. Poet Laureate and Pulitzer Prize-winning poet, who is also a faculty member at UNL; and Enrique Martinez Celaya, a renowned painter, sculptor and poet. “It is my hope and expectation that the Presidential Professorship will help demonstrate that the University of Nebraska is one great statewide institution, with exceptional talent and resources available among the campuses and throughout the state,” Milliken said.

  • Other
University of Nebraska
3835 Holdrege Street, Lincoln, Nebraska 68583 | 402.472.2111 | Comments?
©2016 University of Nebraska Board of Regents