Honorary Degrees
The university awards honorary doctoral degrees to individuals who have attained achievements of extraordinary and lasting distinction. The following may be considered for an honorary degree:
  • Persons who have rendered distinguished service to the university
  • Persons who have rendered distinguished service to Nebraska
  • Graduates, former students and former employees who have achieved distinction
  • Persons not associated with the university who have a record of scholarship, creativity, leadership, or humanitarian or public service
Honorary degrees are not awarded to current members of the university faculty or staff, or members of the Board of Regents or to any person currently seeking or holding an elective state or federal office. No individual may receive more than one honorary degree from the University of Nebraska.

Individuals may be nominated for honorary degrees by campus committees, members of the University of Nebraska Board of Regents or members of the general public.

To nominate a person for a University of Nebraska Honorary Degree, contact Susan M. Fritz, Executive Vice President and Provost, (402) 472-5242 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Nomination Form  |  Board of Regents Honorary Degrees Policy

Recipients - Alphabetical

Recipients - Chronological

University of Nebraska
3835 Holdrege Street, Lincoln, Nebraska 68583 | 402.472.2111 | Comments?
©2019 University of Nebraska Board of Regents