NU President Milliken names UNMC chancellor search committee

University of Nebraska President James B. Milliken has named a search committee for the next chancellor of the University of Nebraska Medical Center. Current Chancellor Harold Maurer, who assumed the position in 1998 and has led the campus through a period of extraordinary growth, has announced his plans to step down on June 30 to lead fundraising efforts for UNMC’s cancer center project.

The 14-member search committee named by Milliken includes representatives of the faculty, administration, student body and private sector to identify, recruit and recommend candidates. The search committee will be chaired by James Linder, professor of pathology and microbiology at UNMC, senior associate to the president for innovation and competitiveness, and president of the University Technology Development Corp. Other members are:

  • Mogens Bay, chairman and chief executive officer, Valmont Industries Inc., and board member, The Nebraska Medical Center
  • Linda Cunningham, human resources diversity specialist, UNMC
  • Kilie Donovan, third-year student, UNMC College of Medicine
  • Ayman El-Mohandes, dean, UNMC College of Public Health
  • Kevin Garvin, chair of orthopaedic surgery, UNMC College of Medicine
  • Patricia Hageman, professor of physical therapy education, UNMC School of Allied Health Professions
  • Gerald Luckey, Butler County Clinic
  • Jeffrey Payne, F. Gene and Rosemary Dixon endowed chair in dentistry and associate dean for research, UNMC College of Dentistry
  • Juliann Sebastian, dean, UNMC College of Nursing
  • Cory Shaw, chief administrative officer, UNMC College of Medicine, and chief executive officer, UNMC Physicians
  • Maria Vazquez, associate vice president for student affairs, Metropolitan Community College
  • Jonathan Vennerstrom, professor of pharmaceutical sciences, UNMC College of Pharmacy
  • Julie Vose, professor of internal medicine, UNMC Division of Hematology & Oncology

The search committee will work with consultants from Isaacson, Miller, a leading search firm with extensive health science center experience that will help to identify the most talented candidates for this leadership position. Milliken said he hopes to have a permanent chancellor in place by July 1, 2013.

Nominations or expressions of interest in the position may be sent to consultants David Bellshaw at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., or Bernie Jones at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..


Melissa Lee
Communications Manager
University of Nebraska
Office: (402) 472-7127
Cell: (402) 580-3297
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

University of Nebraska
3835 Holdrege Street, Lincoln, Nebraska 68583 | 402.472.2111 | Comments?
©2017 University of Nebraska Board of Regents