The Standing Rules provide that there are four standing committees of the Board—the Executive Committee; the Academic Affairs Committee; the Audit, Risk and Compliance Committee; and the Business Affairs Committee. Members of the committees are appointed by the chairperson, following consultation with the Board.

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee shall serve as the consultant group for the President during times when the full Board is not in session and shall make recommendations to the full Board, when appropriate. The Executive Committee shall review the proposed agenda of each meeting of the Board of Regents and approve all agenda items of the remaining committees of the Board.

  • Kent Schroeder, Chair
  • Bob Whitehouse, Vice Chair
  • Bob Phares, Past Chair
  • Jim Pillen, Appointed by Chair
  • Rachel Flaugh, UNK
  • Staff: Carmen Maurer

Academic Affairs Committee

The Academic Affairs Committee shall address matters involving teaching, research, service and extension in support of the University mission.

  • Bob Whitehouse, Chair
  • Rob Schafer, Vice Chair
  • Hal Daub
  • Kent Schroeder
  • Patrick Davlin, UNO
  • Staff: Susan Fritz

Audit, Risk and Compliance Committee

The Audit Committee shall address policies affecting operations review, accountability, and audit. Please see the Audit, Risk and Compliance Committee Charter for more information. 

  • Hal Daub, Chair
  • Tim Clare, Vice Chair
  • Howard Hawks
  • Rob Schafer
  • Daniel Cloonan, UNMC
  • Staff: Mike Justus

Business Affairs Committee

The Business Affairs Committee shall address matters of finance, budget, and business administration in support of the University mission.

  • Howard Hawks, Chair
  • Jim Pillen, Vice Chair
  • Tim Clare
  • Bob Phares
  • Spencer Hartman, UNL
  • Staff: David Lechner