Lincoln, Nebraska December 20, 2018

The Board of Regents of the University of Nebraska met on December 20, 2018, at 11:00 a.m. in the board room at Varner Hall, 3835 Holdrege Street, Lincoln, Nebraska, in a publicly convened session, the same being open to the public and having been preceded by advance publicized notice, a copy of which is attached to the minutes of this meeting as Attachment 1.

In compliance with the provisions of *Neb. Rev. Stat.* § 84-1411, printed notice of this meeting was sent to each member of the Board and was posted in the first floor lobby of Varner Hall. In addition, copies of such notice were sent to the <u>Lincoln Journal Star</u>, <u>Omaha World Herald</u>, the <u>Daily Nebraskan</u>, the <u>Gateway</u>, the <u>Antelope</u>, the <u>Kearney Hub</u>, and the Lincoln office of the Associated Press on December 12, 2018.

Regents present:

Timothy Clare, Vice Chairman

Hal Daub

Howard Hawks

Paul Kenney

Bob Phares

Jim Pillen

Robert Schafer, Chairman

Bob Whitehouse

Logan Krejdl, University of Nebraska at Kearney

Hunter Traynor, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Sarah Hotovy, University of Nebraska Medical Center

Renata Valquier Chavez, University of Nebraska at Omaha

University officials present:

Hank M. Bounds, President

Susan M. Fritz, Executive Vice President and Provost

Carmen K. Maurer, Corporation Secretary

Jeffrey P. Gold, Chancellor, University of Nebraska Medical Center and University of Nebraska at Omaha

Ronnie D. Green, Chancellor, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Douglas A. Kristensen, Chancellor, University of Nebraska at Kearney

Christopher J. Kabourek, Vice President for Business and Finance | CFO

James P. Pottorff, Vice President and General Counsel

Michael J. Boehm, Vice President for Agriculture and Natural Resources

I. CALL TO ORDER

II. ROLL CALL

The Board convened at 11:00 a.m. in the boardroom of Varner Hall, 3835 Holdrege Street, Lincoln, Nebraska. Attendance is indicated above.

III. APPROVAL OF MINUTES AND RATIFICATION OF ACTIONS

Motion Moved by Phares and seconded by Whitehouse to approve the minutes and ratify the

actions of the regularly scheduled meeting on December 4, 2018.

Action Student Opinion: Voting Aye: Krejdl, Traynor, Valquier Chavez, and Hotovy. Voting

Aye: Daub, Hawks, Kenney, Phares, Pillen, Schafer, Whitehouse, and Clare. Motion

carried.

Chairman Schafer announced the location of the Open Meetings Act in the board room.

IV. PUBLIC COMMENT

None

President Bounds made brief comments regarding the appointment of Tiffany Heng-Moss as Dean of the College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources, and Jeffrey Gold as Chancellor of the University of Nebraska at Omaha.

There was discussion

V. UNIVERSITY CONSENT AGENDA

Motion Moved by Daub and seconded by Kenney to approve item V-A-1

Α. **ACADEMIC AFFAIRS**

<u>University of Nebraska</u>

V-A-1 President's Personnel Recommendations

Action Student Opinion: Voting Aye: Traynor, Valquier Chavez, Hotovy, and Krejdl. Voting

Aye: Hawks, Kenney, Phares, Pillen, Schafer, Whitehouse, Clare, Daub. Motion carried.

VI. ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned by Chairman Schafer at 11:24 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Carmen K. Maurer Corporation Secretary

Robert M. Schafer Chairman of the Board