Holidays

Holiday Schedule/Closedowns for 2014

Wedneday January 1 New Years Day
Monday January 20 Martin Luther King Jr. Day
Monday May 26 Memorial Day
Friday July 4 Independence Day
Monday September 1 Labor Day
Thursday November 27 Thanksgiving
Friday November 28 Friday after Thanksgiving
Wednesday December 24 Holiday Closedown in lieu of President's Day
Thursday December 25 Holiday Closedown
Friday December 26 Holiday Closedown in lieu of Arbor Day
Monday December 29 Holiday Closedown in lieu Columbus Day
Tuesday December 30 Holiday Closedown in lieu Veteran's Day
Wednesday December 31 Holiday Closedown taken as vacation leave or leave without pay

The Holiday Closedown for 2014 will begin Monday, December 24 and conclude Friday, January 2, 2015. Staff will return to work Monday, January 5, 2014.


Academic Dates for 2014

Monday January 13 First Day of 2nd Semester Classes
Monday January 20 Martin Luther King Jr. Day
Sun. - Sun March 23 - March 30 Spring Break
Saturday May 3 Last Day of 2nd Semester Classes
Friday May 16 Academic Year concludes for 9-month employees
Monday August 18 Academic Year begins for 9-month employees
Monday August 25 First Day of 1st Semester Classes
Monday September 1 Labor Dat
Mon. - Tues. October 20 - October 21 Semester Break
Wed. - Sat. November 26 - November 29 Thanksgiving Break
Saturday December 13 Last Day of 1st Semester Classes

 

* Vacation Leave/Leave Without Pay - By proclamation of the Governor or the President, University employees other than temporary are compensated for 12 holidays annually. To facilitate the holiday closedown periods, extra days may appear in the schedule and will need to be reported as vacation leave or leave without pay.

University of Nebraska 3835 Holdrege Street, Lincoln, Nebraska 68583 | 402.472.2111 | Comments?Follow the University of Nebraska on Twitter
© 2014 University of Nebraska Board of Regents